Proudly Raising a Nerd :-) and a Very Brief Homeschoolish Update

Trisha is still at that age where she becomes absorbed in our interests, and lately fantasy has been a big thing — well, even more than usual. She is intrigued by the fact that I’m writing a fantasy novel, and she and her dad have been playing an insane amount of Neverwinter, which is basically a reboot of the old Dungeons and Dragons games.

Yesterday Trisha grabbed one of her sketchbooks and announced that she was going to draw a fantasy map, “in case I decide to write another fantasy story.” It became a serious endeavor that took her the better part of the evening. We are all proud of her artwork and cartography!

Map1

Map2

Map3

Map4

My son officially starts high school this fall, and I’ve been developing a curriculum plan of sorts. He and I agreed we will need a lot more structure since he plans to attend a university. For Freshman English I proposed overlapping units on Science Fiction and Fantasy and Dystopian Literature/Film, complemented by Ancient/Medieval History for a social studies credit. I’ve begin making reading/movie lists for all these courses.

We decided to re-initiate the tradition of family read alouds, starting with The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis. Those were among the books John and I passionately loved when we were kids, and it has appeal for the adults and teens in the family and for Trisha. Last night we read the first 4 chapters of The Magician’s Nephew.

3 responses to “Proudly Raising a Nerd :-) and a Very Brief Homeschoolish Update

  1. Yeah nerds are the best. Love her maps. I’ll have to show Keilee these. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I’m glad you linked up to this blog as I didn’t realize this existed! I just have the book/film blog in my reader right now. That artwork is pretty impressive! After seeing a preview for the second Hobbit film the other night I’ve been itching to read it again. And I adore that you read together as a family. I can’t wait until my girls are old enough to share actual books with me (Goodnight Moon just doesn’t scratch the itch…). ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Pingback: The Magician’s Nephew | The Day Dreaming, Candy Eating, Red Headed Bookworm

Leave a Reply

